Hi there!

Welcome to my web site. Glad you could make it.

I write fantasy, mystery, science fiction, and horror, as well as the occasional essay and poem.

I write both short and long fiction. It’s all available on Amazon or from other stores.

The Official Bio

Leah Cutter writes page–turning fiction in exotic locations, such as a magical New Orleans, the ancient Orient, Hungary, the Oregon coast, rural Kentucky, Seattle, Minneapolis, and many others.

She writes literary, fantasy, mystery, science fiction, and horror fiction. Her short fiction has been published in magazines like Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine and Talebones, anthologies like Fiction River, and on the web. Her long fiction has been published both by New York publishers as well as small presses.

Find Leah’s books here.

Follow her blog at www.LeahCutter.com.

What’s New?

The Princess Troll


Most trolls have no natural magical ability. However, Christine does. Enchanted powders swirl up when she walks by. Charms glow.

What happens when Christine tries to direct her magic?

Nothing. Nada. Zip.

Something blocks Christine from reaching her full magical potential.

But what?

The Princess Troll—the second novel in The Seattle Trolls trilogy and the delightful continuation The Changeling Troll—follows Christine on her journeys through a skewed Seattle and her encounters with outrageous and whimsical characters. A coming of age tale for all ages!

Available from your favorite retailers.

Candles and Shadows


New short story, part of the Uncollected Anthology series!

Pearl’s greatest magical gift? Knowing exactly what someone needs before they do. Opening up a magic shop seemed like the perfect way to help her use her gift.

The problem? The beautiful smartly-dressed woman who just walked in.

This woman wants something. Something only Pearl can provide.

Pearl’s fear? Figuring out exactly what this woman needs. And what the cost may be…

Available at your favorite retailers!

Bundles as Ebooks


Originally, this bundle was available at http://www.bundlerabbit.com. Now, it’s available at online distributors, but only for a short time:

Available at:
Kobo Books

In addition, the Fantasy in the City bundle is now available at general distributors!


Available at:




Barnes & Noble


Starting in 2016, I will be leading workshops, teaching indie-publishers and authors how to create beautiful interiors for their print books. In addition, I’ll be teaching how to create covers.

The next print workshop starts in August. The next cover workshop is in September.

To learn more about the workshops, click here.

Business For Breakfast, Volume 4: The Intermediate Professional Storyteller


So. You’re a writer.

You’re no longer a beginning writer, however. You’ve mastered some of the elements of your craft, have learned the basics of storytelling, are starting to see some success.

What do you need to take you to the next level, though? This book is aimed at the intermediate. Not the beginner. Not the advanced. But the writer who is actively working on their craft and yearns to improve.

This book is as much of a guide as anything else. Every chapter has a section called “Clues”—questions that you can ask yourself about your writing to see if you need to work on this technique or not.

Some of the topics discussed include:

Character and Setting
Trust the Process
Writing Techniques
Reader Expectations

Available from your favorite retailers.

Baker’s Dozen Redux

Back in 2011, I gave myself a challenge: Write, edit, copyedit, and publish a short story a week, every week, for thirteen weeks.

This year, I’m not writing a short story a week. I am publishing a short story a week, and offering it for free on my blog for that week (and that week only!)

Check it out!


War Among the Crocodiles



The final book in The Shadow Wars trilogy! Sequel to The Raven and the Dancing Tiger and The Guardian Hound.

As a modern wizard, Yvette knows many things: how to imprint her name on the very stones of her land to protect it, how to hear secrets from winds great and small, and how to bake the perfect souffle (she is French, after all).

However, Yvette doesn’t know how to stop the soul eaters—a group of corrupted human magicians who steal knowledge from her mind as easily as she picks daisies from a field.

When the soul eaters also attack the clans, the ancient families of shape shifters hidden among the humans, a war erupts in the shadows.

Can Yvette stop the soul eaters from destroying not only the clans, but her fellow magicians as well? Particularly when the clans have never trusted her kind, and wage their own internal wars?

Available at your favorite retailers. 

What’s Coming?

Spoiled Harvest

Sequel to Poisoned Pearls and Tainted Waters. Coming October, 2016.

The Immortals’ War

The expansion of the Huli Transport stories, expanded and assembled together in only long story! Coming December, 2016

Starts with Dancing with Tong Yi, War On All Fronts, and The Sweet Shop. Continues with The Immortals’ War, Girls’ Night Out and Kiss. And Make Up.

 Posted by at 3:33 pm